• Recent Comments

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Most Active

  • Pages

  • December 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

Pulled Muscle

I don’t even know how I did it. Weird…it came on sort of slow. Didn’t hurt much at first – just a little stiffness in my back. By the time I got home from work, it was all I could do to lie down on the bed. Every movement was agony. Breathing hurt. And here’s the worst thing: When you pull a muscle in your back, and that sharp shooting pain paralyzes you when you make a bad move, the natural physical response is to tighten your abs to try and take some of the load off. BAD IDEA. That only makes it worse…but just try to relax your abs. You can’t.
So, I found myself in bed, trying to lie on my side, but the spasms were serious. I mean serious. I can’t recall the last time I experienced blinding pain, but this was definitely up there. I could not shift position. I could not roll over. I could not lift my arms. Every single attempt at movement of any sort felt like metal skewers being driven into my back just above the left kidney. Oh…and let me tell you about my smoker’s cough. Just when I thought the pain couldn’t possibly be any worse, involuntary contraction of the abs and a forceful expulsion of air from the diaphragm.
Sweet mother of jumped up Jesus on skis! I would have screamed if it wouldn’t have made the pain worse. I whimpered.
I eventually found a position that eased the strain slightly. It took me an hour to figure it out and get into it. I’m not proud of it but there I was on my hand and knees, my laundry hamper wedged under my belly with a pillow on top so that it would support some of my weight and assist with total relaxation of the abs. I think I even nodded off that way for a little while…until I tried to shift positions. Talk about a rude awakening.
I don’t know where it came from, and I don’t know where it went. There’s only a mere hint of it remaining as I type this…some residual stiffness in one shoulder from being literally motionless for about eight straight hours. But I know two things: I hope it never comes back, and I’m buying a heating pad tomorrow.

3 Responses

  1. Ugh, had that happen to me once. I was in a car for about 12 hours straight. Got out, stretched and felt a pop in my back. Few hours later, I was immobilized in bed with a pulled muscle that stretched around my chest, from the spine to the sternum. Every breath and every move hurt. Worse yet, I had a cold and couldn’t stop sneezing and coughing. I took some serious codeine to deal with the pain. You have my sympathy.

  2. Cousinavi,

    That’s what happens when you “pull your muscle” too often.

  3. Holy fucking shit, man! I hate that. My dad suffered back pain for years and ironically he was the one who taught me to lift heavy objects with my legs, not with my back, so to speak. I guess the universe balanced things out by giving me several kidney stone attacks in lieu of back pain over the years, so I know of the excruciating agony you feel, and I am there with ya, brother.

Leave a Reply

