I WANT Some!

What? No cheddar? It’s the single most popular cheese in the world!

That line, from Monty Python’s Cheese Shoppe sketch, sums up perfectly my relationship with cheese. I like Swiss, mozzarella, Parmesan, Monterrey Jack, Gouda, Edam, Brie…but I fuckin’ LOVE cheddar.
This is a problem living in Taiwan, where cheese is universally understood as slices of individually wrapped processed orange crap. There are two pretenders to cheddar – one out of New Zealand (which comes in Mild and Tasty…get that?…TASTY!), and one other brand which claims to be sharp but comes closer to an uncut block of the aforementioned processed ersatz cheese. I buy the New Zealand stuff, which almost, sorta tastes kinda like cheddar.

Found this story on the intertubes today – a 15-year-old cheddar.
I bet that cheese is crumbly and sharp. I bet that cheese tastes better than it smells, and I’m pretty sure I can smell it from here.

Here’s a link to the maker’s website. If any of you have a heart, send me a block of cheddar.
Old, aged, extra sharp.

2 Responses

  1. Hey iAv- they care rather deeply about their cheddar here in Merry ol’ England (you know, England…) and if you send me your mailing address I’ll courier you some, though the best I ever had was still a 12 year old from Peterborough, Ontario. It was so sharp there were cheeze crystals in it.

    on second reading of this letter I note that that the phrase, “…though the best I ever had was still a 12 year old from Peterborough, Ontario”, could get me into trouble.

  2. That cheese is off limits because of Age Of Cheese Consent Laws, which are bullshit.

    I generally prefer older cheddars, but I resent being forbidden by the government from tapping the odd 15 year old variety when it makes itself available to me. Every cheese is different and they are all ready to be eaten at different times. It should be left up to the cheese itself, not the government.

    The government has no business in the cheese shops of the nation.

Leave a Reply

