These Fuckers Vote – NOW Do You See The Problem?

DST

14 Responses

  1. I almost hate to say it, but the article above isn’t “real.” It was intended to be funny, satire, if you will. I think I saw something about this a few years ago, and it’s just coming around again.

  2. Oh my god. Please let that letter be a Poe.

    • Someone commented that it is exactly that, but if it is it meets the test of being indistinguishable from the arguments of the sincere.

  3. The only tipoff is that it uses a high level of English for someone espousing such a stupid opinion.

    One thing to be certain, with the level of stupidity out there, and especially after the Bush regime, I fear satire has been rendered redundant. When you can’t tell the difference, what’s the point?

  4. Hi, cousinavi. I came here via Bay of Fundie.

    I keep suggesting on other blogs that we mandate minimum standards of intelligence and sanity as a prerequisite for voting, but nearly every time I do, I’m told (usually, I think, by knee-jerk Libertarians) that it’s a stupid idea and I’m a horrible, horrible person who wants to scrap the Constitution and destroy democracy. A notable exception is Bay of Fundie, where, for some reason, they tolerate me.

    • J Eyges…Jeff Eyges?
      Ar you the same chap who blogged the talk given by creationist PhD (Poo head Degree) Nathaniel Jeanson?

  5. I am, although, technically, PZ blogged it. I just wrote the report.

    Wow, that didn’t take long!

    • Looks like quality of visitor is humping up the bell curve around here.
      More common to have people find my rants by searching for “Taiwan fucking” or some other combination of noun and verb that comes off twisted (rather than a simple consequence of commonly posting about Formosa – where I reside – and a powerful tendency to not restrain my salty vocabulary).
      Welcome Jeff. Nice bit on Pharyngula. PZ once linked to a bit here: Close Encounters of the Mormon Kind. Blog stats that day almost made my head explode.
      And you didn’t even find VNV by that route, but Bay of Fundie.
      I refuse to consider my world could be that insular. As the saying goes, “It’s a small world…until you have to paint it.”

  6. Thanks!

    BTW, I liked this exchange you had with a kid early on in the thread under your introductory post:

    Oh so I get it, I’m a fuckwit for having a reason to live (God), for liking electronica, and for being a Republican. THATS why I got a 33 on my ACT. Thanks for clearing that up for me.

    To which you replied:

    If God is your reason to live, you might be a fuckwit.
    If you like electronica, you might be a fuckwit.
    If you’re a Republican, you are a fuckwit.

    • I ought to go back an revise the middle assertion from “might” to “probably.”
      While I can imagine someone who likes that 4/4, 120 BPM, electronic bullshit not being a fuckwit, I never actually met one. The proposition is drifting seriously into unicorn territory.

  7. Uh, holy hot canned pressurized excremental illness!!

  8. This is spot on: “One thing to be certain, with the level of stupidity out there, and especially after the Bush regime, I fear satire has been rendered redundant. When you can’t tell the difference, what’s the point?”

    Satire is lost on people who lack the subtlety of thought to comprehend and appropriate it in a way so as to make it distinctive from what it is not. That contrast is pretty crucial, and neocons lack that ability in great numbers.

  9. Satire is lost on people who lack the subtlety of thought to comprehend and appropriate it in a way so as to make it distinctive from what it is not.

    I’ve been pointing to this for years as the defining characteristic of fundamentalists – their minds lack subtlety.

Leave a Reply

