The Restaurant Business

Back in the day, my Dad was great pals with a hotelier named Lorne. Dad had done a fair bit of engineering design for Lorne, and we commonly went to a restaurant/bar he ran for lunch.
One day we were sitting with Lorne – my brother, Ellis, Lorne, Ricky and I. The waitress asked dad what he wanted for lunch. Dad said, “I think I’ll have the turkey dinner.”
The waitress replied, “I’m sorry, Ellis, we’re all out of turkey.”
Dad thought for a moment and said, “Well, in that case, bring me the hot chicken sandwich.”
Lorne leaned over with a big grin on his face and said, “Ellis…if we had any chicken, you woulda got your turkey.”

Leave a Reply

