RIP Sam – The Outlaw Josey Wales

Noticed on the tubes that Sam Bottoms passed – brain something.  All the stories mark him as best known for playing Surfer Lance in Apocalypse Now.

Pfft.  For me, Sam will always be the Kid from The Outlaw Josey Wales.
I feel as pert as a ruttin’ buck.

Jamie: I wish we had time to bury them fellas.
Josey Wales: To hell with them fellas. Buzzards gotta eat, same as worms.

And, before I get all misty strapping Sam onto the horse and sending him off to distract the Redlegs one last time, I’ll say this about TOJW:  It’s not only the greatest Western ever made, it’s one of the great movies of all time and not the least of its virtues is this:  There is not a single part better played by anyone else.

I’ve seen lots of movies that sucked but might have been great if they’d landed Ed Norton instead of Leonardo de Cappucino.  But from Eastwood to John Vernon, Chief Dan George to Sondra Locke to Will Sampson and Sheb Wooley…to Sam Bottoms…I would not trade a single one.  Top of that, TOJW has more quotable quotes than Good Fellas to the power of Pulp Fiction (Quenton should have let Buscemi play Jimmy).

Josey Wales: When I get to likin’ someone, they ain’t around long.
Lone Watie: I notice when you get to DISlikin’ someone they ain’t around for long neither.

I couldn’t locate the clip I wanted with Sam in it, so I’m cranking up arguably the best scene in the movie.  Resquiat in pace, Sam.  Thanks.  You can pay me when you see me again.

One Response

  1. I too love that movie, and its just as good today as it was when it first came out…it is timeless!

Leave a Reply

