Michelle Obama – Greatest First Lady Since Eleanor Roosevelt

I’ve posted about Michelle Obama before (here and here).  Educated, smart, steady, solid – my opinion of her continues to grow every time I have the opportunity to catch her speaking.  She’s going to be one the great first ladies in American history.  She’s like some phenomenal blend of the Queen Mum and Miles Davis – made of really very strong stuff and ultra cool to boot.
I didn’t catch the Larry King show on which she recently appeared, but here’s the transcript.

I’ve also spent a fair bit of effort comparing and contrasting her husband against John McCain (not much of a contest, in my estimation).  I will not waste the effort comparing Ms. Obama to Cindy McCain.  It strikes me as insulting to both of them for very different reasons.  As you read the transcript, keep in mind Mrs. McCain’s recent comment accusing Barack Obama of running one of the dirtiest campaigns in American history.  As the kettle said, “Who YOU callin’ black?”

I’ve caged this bit from the transcript because it made me laugh outloud:

KING: Your husband gave you a shout out near the end of last night’s debate in response to moderator Tom Brokaw described as a Zen-like Internet question from a woman in New Hampshire.

Let’s watch.

(BEGIN VIDEO CLIP)

TOM BROKAW, MODERATOR OF PRESIDENTIAL DEBATE: What don’t you know and how will you learn it?

(LAUGHTER)

BROKAW: Senator Obama, you get first crack at that.

SEN. BARACK OBAMA (D-IL), PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE: My wife Michelle is there and she could give you a much longer list than I do. And most the time I learn it by asking her.

(END VIDEO CLIP)

KING: How’d you react to that?

M. OBAMA: I thought, he’s so cute. And I started going down my list.

I have no doubt for whom the ghosts of Eleanor Roosevelt and Jackie O are casting their ethereal ballots.

Terrorist fist bumps to infinity and beyond!

3 Responses

  1. Michelle was on The Daily Show last night too, and she was awesome. If you didn’t see it, you can over at thedailyshow.com

  2. What a fuckin’ team. If they were white Republicans, we’d be sold a team.
    How smart these two are continues to find new ways to boggle.

  3. Man I wrote an email to Bob this morning after he pulled that one post off his site. Basically I told him that I thought folks had seen that Michelle interview and were so inspired by her honesty and grace that they couldn’t stand to tarnish the campaign. Thanks for this post Cous. You are a right-on righteous bad ass dude! Right on the mark once again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

